Hunger Games vs. Harry Potter

Everybody thought that Hunger Games was the next Harry Potter… and in a way, it was. They made movies. The casting was a huge deal. People cried and screamed whenever the next book came out. Suzanne Collins was revered in readers’ eyes as the next J.K. Rowling. The next billionaire. Jennifer Lawrence and Emma Watson were scrutinized and their acting skills questioned.

And as soon as the comparisons start, the question of which one is better came up over and over again. While many appraise them as equals, I personally believe that there is no comparison.

HARRY POTTER FOR THE WIN.

Now. I’m not biased. Honestly.

I read Harry Potter and I read Hunger Games. I absolutely loved them both. Because they came on kind of separately, I was able to read them each separately and count down the days for the next book separately. I have all 7 books of Harry Potter and okay, only two out of three of the books of Hunger Games.

But coming from a reader and coming from a literary critic point of view, (which I’m not qualified technically for saying … ) there are several reasons I believe Harry Potter to be the better series. I’ve decided to do (probably) a series of posts for each reason why I think Harry Potter is better – in the most respectful way, I promise.

And this post is getting too long, so I’ll do it tomorrow or some other time haha.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hunger Games vs. Harry Potter

    • Hmmm, I have reread Hunger Games, it’s just Mockingjay just kind of threw me off the series a lot. I would rather read all seven books of Harry Potter then get through the depressing-ness of Mockingjay 😛 But Hunger Games and Catching Fire were pretty good, I’d say.
      Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  1. aspenlinmer says:

    I completely agree! Harry Potter was much more impact for me than the Hunger Games. Hunger Games was entertaining but that was about it for me…after the story was done I was done reading it. HP on the other hand is something I can re-read and get more and more out of each time. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to reading your future posts on what makes HP so great. 🙂

    ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

