Life Lessons – My Conclusions before heading off to college

Some Life Lessons –

  1. Don’t be afraid to speak up
    1. I think when I was younger, I was afraid to talk to a lot of the older people in youth group. It was partly because I was intimidated, partly because I thought I didn’t have anything substantial to add, partly because I didn’t want them to judge me. Don’t be afraid to say what you think. This means in youth group, don’t be afraid to add on something that’s going on in your mind. It also means simply to have faith in yourself and your abilities.
  2. Hold on to your relationships.
    1. Especially when you’re going through some of those rough years in high school, it is crucial that you maintain good relationships. Your friends can hold you accountable, tell you when they think you’re doing something good or gently let you know if they think you’re doing something wrong. They’re also the ones you get to spend some of the best and happiest memories. Also, cherish your family relationships as well. I’ve been incredibly blessed to have an amazing family and this has been my foundation for getting me through so many things.
  3. Be true to who you are and your values
    1. There will most definitely be a moment in your life where your values will be put into question. Stay true to them. My dad often has told me to not simply just listen to what people tell you – whether that’s at school, in the news, in church – to make your decisions and your opinions for yourself. Stay true to them!
  4. Think big picture
    1. We have a lot of worries and a lot of stress especially in high school. But always, always, always think big picture. You’re happy, you’re healthy, you’re safe, and you have lots of people who love you and care about you. That’s really all that matters in the end yeah?
  5. Be committed
    1. Finally, I would like to stress how important it is to be committed to Jesus. Make it a habit – prayer, reading the Bible, going to church. You think these things are very straightforward routine concepts that every Christian follows, but that’s because they really actually help grow you spiritually. I found my faith to be strongest and when I was the happiest when I was really on top of those things. even when you don’t want to do certain things because you don’t have the time, do it do it do it I’ve learned the hard way. it is so important to be committed because having a faith in Jesus that grows and grows and grows will be a foundation to all those other values.
Leave a Reply

